twitter thumbnail

Follow us on Twitter

facebook thumbnail

Like us on Facebook

About the Oxfordshire Growth Board

The Growth Board is a joint committee of the six councils of Oxfordshire together with key strategic partners. Following an extensive public review in 2020, the Board has adopted a new purpose which is to:

  • Coordinate local efforts to manage economic, housing and infrastructure development in a way that is inclusive and maximises local social and environmental benefits;
  • Support the development of local planning policy that meets the UK Government’s stated aim of net zero carbon by 2050, and contributes towards biodiversity gain whilst embracing the changes needed for a low carbon world; and,
  • Seek to secure funding in the pursuit of these aims and oversee the delivery of related work programmes delegated to it by the Joint Committee’s constituent local authority members.

It does this by overseeing the delivery of projects that the councils of Oxfordshire are seeking to deliver collaboratively in the fields of economic development and strategic planning. This cooperation has helped Oxfordshire to secure over £500m of additional investment, such as through the City Deal, Housing and Growth Deal, Housing Infrastructure Fund and the Oxfordshire Rail Connectivity Study. The Growth Board also has an important role in representing Oxfordshire on matters of regional interest.

The Board meets six times each year to discuss issues facing Oxfordshire’s future, most often in a non-decision-making capacity. It is supported by three Advisory Sub-groups (Infrastructure, Housing and Oxfordshire Plan 2050) a Scrutiny Panel, and a small team of officers who are tasked with delivering on elements of the Board’s work programme.

Through this website, you can find more information about our meetings, membership and how to ask as a question. The full terms of reference for the Growth Board can be found here below.

Terms of Reference – August 2020
  • logo-4-2
  • logo-3-2
  • logo-1-2
  • logo-6-2
  • logo-5-2
  • logo-2-2
  • envagency
  • homesengland
  • oxonccg
  • broookesuni
  • oxuni
  • oxlep-logo-reduced

Upcoming Meetings

Latest Projects

OXIS Stage 2
  • Programme : Oxfordshire Infrastructure Strategy (OxIS)
  • Status : Completed
OXIS Stage 1
  • Programme : Oxfordshire Infrastructure Strategy (OxIS)
  • Status : Completed
Transport infrastructure assessment
  • Programme : Post SHMA Strategic Work Programme
  • Status : Completed
Spatial options assessment
  • Programme : Post SHMA Strategic Work Programme
  • Status : Completed

Our Members

Councillor Emily Smith (Chairman)
Vale of White Horse District Council
Councillor Michelle Mead
West Oxfordshire District Council
Councillor Sue Cooper
South Oxfordshire District Council
Councillor Ian Hudspeth
Oxfordshire County Council
Councillor Susan Brown
Oxford City Council
Councillor Barry Wood
Cherwell District Council